Governor Lamont Orders Waiver of New State Agency Credit and Debit Card Service Fees


Press Releases


Governor Lamont Orders Waiver of New State Agency Credit and Debit Card Service Fees

(HARTFORD, CT) – Governor Ned Lamont today announced that he is directing Office of Policy and Management Secretary Jeffrey Beckham to waive service fees that Connecticut state agencies are charged. required to begin collecting on credit, debit and charge card transactions under state law effective July 1, 2022.

Waiver of this service fee will save Connecticut residents and businesses approximately $6 million in fiscal year 2023, which begins next week.

“Each of us is feeling the pressure of inflation, and I am committed to reducing costs for businesses and residents where permitted by law,” Governor Lamont said. “By waiving these transaction fees, businesses and residents will save approximately $6 million. Our administration will work with the General Assembly to review all of these fees that are implemented by state law, and we will review the agreements we have with credit card companies as we continue to streamline and modernize the state government.

Below Public Law 21-2 (June Special Session), state agencies that accept credit, debit, or charge card payments are required to charge service fees to customers who pay by these methods beginning July 1, 2022. Prior to this legislation, some state agencies State were already passing these costs on to customers. , but many government agencies had not yet adopted this practice. This service fee requirement was intended to recover the costs incurred by the state in accepting these types of payments and would have imposed new fees on customers entering into transactions with state agencies that had not previously charged fees.

This same law also includes a provision allowing the Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management to waive these fees. Governor Lamont directs Secretary Beckham to waive new fees until the end of fiscal year 2023.

Among the agency fees impacted are those of the Department of Motor Vehicles, the Department of Consumer Protection, the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, and the Department of Public Health.

Twitter: @GouvNedLamont

Facebook: Office of Governor Ned Lamont


About Author

Comments are closed.